Vegan Dutch Bros Drinks (2023): 10 Best Options

Dutch Bros has one of the most extensive beverage menus when it comes to coffee chains. From coffees to sodas, freezes – you name it, they’ve got it! But when it comes to Dutch Bros vegan drinks, how wide are your options

Dutch Bros introduced alternative milk recently, so their vegan choices are still in the making. Let’s see what we’ve dug up.

Our posts may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Topics Explored

  1. Do Vegan Drinks Even Exist?
  2. How To Order Vegan Beverages At Dutch Bros
  3. Vegan Dutch Bros Drinks
  4. What Are Items To Avoid?
  5. FAQs

Do Vegan Drinks Even Exist?

Yes, vegan drinks do exist at Dutch. However, the variety of drinks you get to enjoy depends on how strict your diet is. What do we mean?

Some ingredients are non-dairy and vegan but have come into contact with animals or animal products, like honey. 

Creamer Contents

You can get most drinks that contain dairy with plant-based milk. Some drinks contain no dairy at all, so they’re an easy choice.

How To Order Vegan Beverages At Dutch Bros

I always order my usual drink but ask if they can make it vegan.

The friendly ‘bro-istas’ are usually super helpful and will suggest substitutions or even a different drink altogether.

Just be aware that some of the non-dairy milk options might come with an extra charge.

What Are Some Vegan Dutch Bros Drinks?

This list of vegan beverages should have you covered, but it’s always a good idea to double-check with your bro-ista before ordering.

Also, note that ingredients can vary from time to time or by location, so it’s always best to confirm.

1. Oat Milk Kicker

Oat Milk Kicker

The Oat Milk Kicker is an excellent pick-me-up option that fusses rich espresso with creamy oat milk and Irish cream syrup for an extra kick.(1) I like mine iced.

Although fairly new,  it’s already one of the most famous vegan drinks. 


None needed. The oat milk kicker is good as-is.


  • Espresso
  • Almond Milk
  • Irish Cream Syrup

2. 911 (with almond milk)


For those exceptional cases of urgency, reach for the vegan 911. The original comes with 6 shots of espresso, Irish cream syrup, and half and half. 

Here’s how you make it vegan. Swap the half and half for almond milk.

Again, iced tastes best in our opinion but any version is guaranteed to alert all your senses. 


Ask the bro-ista for almond milk instead of half and half.


  • Espresso
  • Almond Milk
  • Irish Cream Syrup

3. Cold Brew & Nitro Cold Brew

Nitro Cold Brew

Plain cold brew and nitro cold brew are vegan-friendly. They’re made with simple, vegan ingredients: coffee ground and water. 

Sometimes we find plain cold brew boring, so we like to add a splash of coconut milk or a flavoring syrup.


None needed but you can spice it up with vegan syrups.


  • Brewed Coffee
  • Water

4. Iced Soy Annihilator

Soy Annihilator

The Annihilator at Dutch Bros is a chocolate-nutty blend that’s comforting and delicious.

The original comes with full-bodied espresso, chocolate macadamia nut syrup, and half and half. To make it vegan, swap the breve for soy.

Trust us, it tastes pretty good!


Swap half and half for soy milk.


  • Espresso
  • Soy Mlik
  • Chocolate Macadamia Nut Syrup

5. Cinnamon Swirl Oat Milk Latte

Cinnamon Swirl Oat Milk Latte

That’s right – the heartwarming fall flavor is available in a vegan version! The Dutch Bros Cinnamon Swirl Oat Latte is the perfect combination of espresso, cinnamon, oat milk, and vanilla. 

Switch things up and have it iced for a whole new experience.


It’s already vegan. Drink away!


  • Espresso
  • Cinnamon
  • Vanilla Syrup
  • Oat Milk

6. Americano


The Americano is a no-brainer when it comes to vegan choices. The Dutch Bros version is no different – just plain espresso and hot water. 

If you’re like me and longing for some more flavor, add a vegan-friendly syrup like vanilla or hazelnut. 


It’s just plain old coffee. You’re good!


  • Espresso
  • Water

7. Coconut Banana Bread Dutch Freeze

Carburetor Freeze

We recently learned about ‘carburetor-style’ drinks, which means they’ll skip the pre-made freeze mix. The mix contains dairy. 

Ask the bro-ista for coconut milk instead. And there you go enjoying a coconut-banana flavor with hints of espresso.


Ask the barista for a carburetor-style version. Then add coconut milk.


  • Blended Espresso Mix
  • Hazelnut Syrup
  • Creme de Banana Syrup
  • Coconut Milk

8. Teas


Their teas are vegan as long as you don’t add almond roca syrup in them. Also, as much as it hurts us to say this, stay away from soft-tops or cream; they’re not vegan-friendly. 

Our favorite flavor is the Duch Mojito Tea, made with coconut, lime, and creme de menthe.

9. Lattes & Cappuccinos

Vegan Dutch Bros Latte
Photo by Dutch Bros

You don’t have to deprive yourself of the classics, as long as you swap the breve or milk with the plant-based options. Dutch Bros provide coconut, almond, or oat milk for your lattes and cappuccinos. 

Almost all syrups, except for almond roca, are vegan-friendly.


Swap the breve version with any of Dutch’s plant-based milks.

10. Smoothies (Hold the Whip & Ice-Cream Mix)


The smoothies at Dutch Bros are made with a dairy-free Torani smoothie mix. However, to keep the smoothie vegan, avoid whipped cream topping. 

Do double-check with the bro-ista if your flavor contains dairy. Some flavors are blended with ice cream, which obviously includes dairy.


Ask the bro-ista for a non-dairy version and hold the whip!

Dutch Bros Drinks: Commonly Used Ingredients

Consider making your own Dutch Bros coffee at home? Here are the most commonly used ingredients in Dutch Bro drinks.

What Are Items To Avoid?

Even though there are many vegan options and swaps, some drinks can’t be made vegan since their base is irreplaceable. 

Read the options below before you get confused, or go for a drink that’s impossible to make vegan. 

Pour Milk into Pitcher

Dutch Frosts

Vegan frosts are impossible to make since their main component is their ice-cream mix. There’s no vegan substitute. 

The frosts come with whipped cream, which is not dairy-free. If you want another frozen blended drink go for a carburetor-style Dutch Freeze instead.

Some Sauces

Torani makes the sauces used at Dutch Bros.(2) As a vegan, you need to stay away from the white chocolate sauce, caramel, and pumpkin pie sauce. 

All of them contain dairy in the form of skim milk, condensed or non-fat milk.

Any Milk-Based Toppings or Additions

The dairy toppings are evident to seasoned vegans. However, the slang Dutch Bros uses may obfuscate the real ingredients. To stay in the clear, avoid drinks with ‘Soft Tops’, ‘Kick Me Mix’ or ‘Freeze Mix’.

The soft top is a softly whipped buttermilk. The Kick Me mix is half and half. The Freeze Mix is whole milk used in Dutch Freeze drinks. I know… it’s a lot to take in.


The entire category of cocoa drinks is a no-go for vegans. They make their hot cocoa with the Dutch Bros chocolate milk. 

Unfortunately, there’s not an option to swap it for vegan milk. In addition, some drinks contain sauces or syrups that are not vegan-friendly.


Vegan Dutch Bros Drinks

Looking for a vegan Dutch Bros drinks can baffle you. With their specific names and slang, it’s hard to detect what ingredients go in your beverage.

A few years ago, Dutch introduced plant-based milk, broadening the vegan options. However, some drinks will never be vegan friendly since their main ingredient is dairy.

Pick some of our suggestions, but still ask your bro-ista for confirmation.


Are Dutch Bros syrups vegan?

Not all syrups used at are vegan. For example, the Almond Roca Syrup is not vegan, as it contains milk. 

All other syrups are supposed to be vegan but double-check with your bro-ista for changes in ingredients. Don’t confuse syrups with sauces, as most sauces are not vegan-friendly.

What are vegan alternatives at Dutch Bros?

Dutch Bros is making baby steps towards accommodating most diets. They offer vegan-friendly milk like almond, oat, and coconut.

You can ask to swap the honey for cane sugar in some drinks.

They offer the carburetor-style modification, which lets you ditch and replace ingredients in blended frozen drinks, like the Dutch Freeze.

Are Dutch Bros smoothies vegan?

They aren’t but it can be made vegan. Dutch Bros original fruit mix doesn’t contain any dairy or other animal products.

Skip the whipped cream as it’s not made from plant-based milk. Likewise, make sure the smoothie you picked doesn’t include ice cream mix.

Does Dutch Bros have oat milk?

Yes, most Dutch Bros locations should carry oat milk. Simply ask the barista if they have it available. And if they do, simply ask them to swap dairy milk with oat milk or better yet, ask if they can recommend drinks with oat milk.

Verified Sources

Wondering where your info comes from? We totally understand. Hey Joe only obtains our information from reputable sources. Contents from this article are sourced from the following publications:

  1. VegOut Magazine:
  2. Torani: